Contact Us   Home
 

 

 


   Excel Math Blog    
AnsMar Publishers, Inc.
12150 Tech Center Drive
Poway, CA 92064-7102
Toll Free: 866-866-7026
San Diego: 858-513-7900
Fax: 858-513-2764
 

 

   
info@excelmath.com
 

 

 

 

Excel Math Blog

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Down for the Count: Math Games

numbers

In Excel Math, students learn to count, skip-count, use expanded notation and add (plus lots more).

We've pulled together some resources for counting and some online math games to reinforce counting skills. Do you have some favorite counting games? Leave us a comment in the box below.

Excel Math Projectable Lessons include lots of counting activities and math lessons that can be projected onto a whiteboard, electronic board, wall or screen.

Each grade level of Projectable Lessons comes on its own CD. The best part is that you only need one CD per grade level for each school site!

The Projectable first shows the lesson with problems. The next slide shows the work and solutions in red. Additional text and graphics and color may be used to clarify complex concepts.

Read more about the Excel Math Projectable Lessons on our website.


With Projectable Lessons, the entire class can focus on the day's math concept together:

Projectable Lesson

Excel Math Projectable Lesson

The new Excel Math Projectable Lessons CD for Kindergarten is now available. Here's a sample slide to help students compare and sort objects by length:

Kinder Projectable Slide
Excel Math Kindergarten Projectable Lesson Slide

You can download a Kindergarten Projectable Lesson on counting and addition from our website:
http://www.excelmath.com/tools.html


The first slide shows the problems, which the students can work out together. The next slide shows the answers:

Kinder Projectable Slide 1
Kinder Projectable Slide 2
Excel Math Kindergarten Projectable Lesson Slides

hopscotch

During the summer, children practice counting while jumping rope, playing hopscotch or jacks, shooting hoops on the basketball court, and keeping score while playing sports. Computer time, too, can provide a chance to practice counting and addition. Here are some online counting games you can share with your students:

Bitesize Math: http://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/ks1/maths
Cool Math: http://www.coolmath-games.com/1-number-games
Cricket Web: http://www.crickweb.co.uk/Early-Years.html#ftank2
Fun Brain: http://www.funbrain.com/kidscenter.html  
ICT Games - Adding by Ten Octopus Game: http://www.ictgames.com/octopus.html 
Learning Box- Base Ten: http://www.learningbox.com/Base10/CatchTen.html 
Math Blaster: http://www.mathblaster.co
Math Is Fun: http://www.mathsisfun.com/games/counting-bugs.html
Primary Games - Counting Fish: http://www.primarygames.com/math/fishycount/
Sadler-Oxford - Numbers in Expanded Form: http://www.sadlier-oxford.com/math/practice/gr2/Chapt_2/expand/0202.htm 
Sesame Street - Count Me to Sheep: http://www.sesamestreet.org/games?id=151  
Toon University - Counting to  100: http://www.toonuniversity.com/flash.asp?err=507&engine=7 

You may also be interested in some of our previous posts and math worksheets on counting:

Learning to Count and Add Objects: http://excelmathmike.blogspot.com/2013/03/learning-to-count-and-add-objects.html
Teaching Students Place Value and Regrouping: http://excelmathmike.blogspot.com/2012/11/teaching-students-place-value-and.html 

Coins in the Car - http://excelmathmike.blogspot.com/2010/07/coins-in-ashtray.html

New to Excel Math? Preview elementary math lessons that really work for Kindergarten through Sixth Grade on our website: www.excelmath.com. Also find math resources for teachers, parents and students and take a walk through the curriculum at excelmath.com/tour/tour01.html.

You might also like:

Five-Minute Math Class Warm-Ups: 

Overcoming Math Anxiety in the Classroom

Our Founding Fathers on Currency

Research Supports Excel Math Spiraling Process

girl counting

Learn about Excel Math Summer School.

Leave a Comment

foxyform Order Now

 

 

Copyright © 2017 AnsMar Publishers, Inc. • 1-866-866-7026